Euthanasia – a peaceful end at a time of my choosing..?

Road sign saying Choice, Exit now

I have been working as a physiotherapist for more than 30 years, and during this time I have been with a number patients as they lived the final weeks and months of their lives, knowing that in the near future they will die. A few lived their last few weeks with a nobility and joy which was inspiring to everyone around, a few fought bitterly against the hand that fate had given them, and some even lived their final weeks denying that life was coming to an end. Treating these patients was, on the whole, a rewarding experience, as everyone is grateful if you can ease their pain for even a while.

Equality and Freedom

Much of the debate around the topics in this Ethics MOOC have centred around 2 very basic concepts: equality and freedom. There seems to be a good consensus that equality for all is a Good Thing, and should be a moral absolute, and that each of us should have freedom to think and act as we wish, albeit with many limitations placed by the society we live in in order to ensure that one person’s free act does not rob another person of their life/health/freedom.

Freedom to choose the end…

So, looking at the last stages of a person’s life, does it make sense that they should be free to choose the manner of their death?

You or I certainly have that freedom right now: if I wanted to, I could end my life at a time of my choosing with a choice of several different methods, and I suppose I do consider this a freedom.

Now, a terminally ill patient suffering from the late stages of, for instance, Motor Neurone Disease, does not have the same freedom you and I do to end their life: they no longer have the physical ability to kill themselves. A person with Locked-in Syndrome similarly lacks that freedom.


This certainly seems to be unequal – I am allowed to end my own life, but simply because they are “disabled” they are not.

Is this not discrimination?

We might argue that life is unfair, and that their cruel disease has robbed them of many freedoms: to walk, talk, feed themselves, etc. and that it also robs them of the freedom to finish their life. However, we can also argue that the Law does not prevent them walking, talking or eating, yet the Law as it stands in the UK and in South Africa does prevent them ending their life.

Does “right to life” mean “an obligation to live”?

To my mind, Locked-in Sydrome and terminal illness with intractable pain certainly diminish human dignity, and it’s harder morally to justify letting somebody die a slow and painful death than it is to justify helping them to avoid it.

Euthanasia Legislation

I find myself thinking that in the context of the UK, on balance I believe that some form of euthanasia (perhaps similar to that currently practised in The Netherlands and Belgium) should be made legal.

I feel certain that I would be glad of it were I to be diagnosed with MND or something similar.

However, I do wonder whether in the context of South Africa legalising it might just bring certain problems which it wouldn’t in the UK.

Please forgive me: I know this sounds terribly prejudiced – it’s ok for me in my country but not ok for you in yours – but here are my reasons for being unsure:

Euthanasia is an extreme act used as a last resort when medical interventions are unable to provide a cure, and really needs to exist in a society where every person has access to very good medical care, especially palliative care services – I wonder whether this is the case at present in South Africa? I have no real knowledge of this, so I’m just asking the question.

I can imagine a scenario where a newly established – and maybe also as yet underfunded? – health care system might struggle to provide good care for terminally ill patients, due to lack of resources and experience; and in this case encouraging patients to undergo euthanasia might seem to be a good way of making sure that funds were saved to spend on patients with a better prospect of cure/recovery.

Please comment on this last section – do I have the right to make these sort of remarks about South Africa?

Picture of horse facing slaughter house, with a choice of taking left or right gate

The illusion of free choice

The whole euthanasia debate is certainly difficult.

But I believe that we are morally obliged at least to have the discussion…

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Euthanasia – a peaceful end at a time of my choosing..?”

  1. Marna says :

    Not in SA but do agree that some form of euthanasia laws in more countries would be good. Have you seen Terry Pratchett’s Doco? I know the main issue we have over here is we have a very high teen suicide rate already and you get punished if an attempt is not successful :s

    • Wendy Walker says :

      Hi Marna,
      Yes, I have seen Terry Pratchett’s programme, and I have every sympathy with him. Oh dear, a very high teen suicide rate – very worrying; I wonder what can be done about that? It’s beyond me…

  2. barkerbb says :

    Hi Wendy. I agree with your distinction between the right to life and the obligation to live. In the context of MND and other degenerative neuromuscular disorders when the end is certain, a living will stipulating the cessation of care may go some way to ameliorating the need for a harrowing decision at the end of life. You are spot on to identify cost as the major driver here, and it is not just the third world. The rise in elder abuse in the UK bears witness to this.
    Our South African government has set its face toward a national health scheme which will certainly be under resourced and underfunded. At the other end of life, premature babies weighing under 1000g are already deselected from care in the interests of cost containment in the State sector. There is not reason to believe that Care of the Elderly and otherwise infirm will be any different.

    • Wendy Walker says :

      Ah, yes, I thought that it likely that limited funding would have a big impact – as a general rule I suspect that lack of resources causes moral principles to be severely compromised.

  3. angelaj733 says :

    Hi Wendy
    It would be difficult to comment on the situation in South Africa regarding legislation and consequences and out health care budget is very stretched and our healthcare system is under financial stress.

    However the situation of misuse is global as was seen by the review of the Liverpool Care pathway and I quote from the review document regarding financial incentives

    ‘ I am deeply disturbed that
    financial incentives are linked
    with LCP, which must call into
    question at least some of the
    prognoses and decisions made.

    • Wendy Walker says :

      Indeed, very good point Angela. Although, such things are seldom simple, and my personal experience of the LCP is that it offered appropriate support for my relative at the natural end of a long life; but as you say it was not without problems.

  4. jackiewong88 says :

    Hey Wendy, Once again, a brilliant post! I love the points you made about discrimination, right to life, and obligation to live. And I do agree that financial status plays a big part in the possible abuse of euthanasia. I believe the only way to make euthanasia legitimate and possible is to really understand that the only way euthanasia should even be considered is when there are extreme cases like MND and Lock-in Syndrome.

    Jackie

    • Wendy Walker says :

      Thanks for your kind words, Jackie. Like you, I find myself thinking that in these very extreme cases then euthanasia should be considered; otherwise we’re potentially condemning the individual concerned to a life of suffering, maybe we could even call it “passive torture”?

      • jackiewong88 says :

        Wow I believe passive torture is a great term to describe these extreme situations! If we cannot understand them we also cannot comprehend

        Jackie

Leave a comment